The press release service powered by the Press

2018 Illinois Principals of the Year

Horace Mann and Illinois Principals Association Name 2018 Principals of the Year

Springfield,Illinois (PR MediaRelease) October 26, 2018

Horace Mann and the Illinois Principals Association are pleased to announce the 2018 Principals of the Year.  Award winners are: 

·         Elementary Principal of the Year – Gloria Trejo, Pioneer Elementary School, West Chicago

·         Middle School/Junior High Principal of the Year – Andy Anderson, Conrady Junior High School, Hickory Hills

·         High School Principal of the Year – Paul Kelly, Elk Grove Village High School, Elk Grove Village

·         Assistant Principal of the Year – Amy Quattrone, Westmont Junior High School, Westmont 

These awards recognize principals who have demonstrated a positive impact on their students and learning community. Criteria for the awards include:

·         Demonstrates a positive impact on education and advocacy for children

·         Ensures the school climate is positive and reflects high staff and student morale

·         Demonstrates creativity and imagination in bringing about positive change

·         Willing to take risks to improve student learning

·         Moves actively to implement the goals and objectives of the school

·         Works collaboratively with teachers and other staff to improve the educational program and student achievement

·         Anticipates emerging problems and acts effectively to resolve them

·         Involves the community in the life of the school and uses community resources for students.

“Each of these individuals is to be commended for the leadership they exhibit in their schools every day,” states Jason Leahy, IPA Executive Director.  “School building leaders have one of the most demanding jobs anywhere.  The learning communities of these outstanding people have much to be proud of.”

Principal of the Year winners are selected from a pool of region nominees provided by the 21 Regions of the Illinois Principals Association and winners were recognized on October 22, 2018 at the IPA annual Education Leaders Fall Conference.

Horace Mann — the largest national multiline insurance company focusing on educators’ financial needs – provides auto and homeowners insurance, retirement annuities, life insurance and other financial solutions. “Founded by Educators for Educators” in 1945, the company is headquartered in Springfield, Ill. Visit for more information.

The Illinois Principals Association is a leadership organization which serves over 5,200 educational leaders throughout the state of Illinois and whose mission is to develop, support, and advocate for innovative educational leaders. Learn more at Visit for more information about the IPA Principal of the Year Awards Program.

Alison Maley
Illinois Principals Association
Governmental Relations/Public Relations Director
Jason Leahy
Illinois Principals Association
Executive Director
The website below is fully functional for your convenience to provide additional information about us and/or our news.

Featured WebPage


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.