The press release service powered by the Press

MDAdvantage Honors New Jersey’s Healthcare Leaders with Prestigious “Excellence in Medicine” Awards

$85,000 Distributed to New Jersey Healthcare Scholarship Recipients

MDAdvantage Color Logo

Lawrenceville,New Jersey (PR MediaRelease) May 28, 2015

A group of outstanding New Jerseyans were lauded on May 6th when the Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Awards® honored physicians and healthcare leaders at a black-tie event. These coveted awards are among the highest honors given in New Jersey’s medical community. MDAdvantage®, a leading provider of medical professional liability insurance in New Jersey, sponsors the state’s longest-running medical awards program to recognize New Jersey’s healthcare efforts.

In addition to the awards bestowed upon this year’s honorees, seven New Jersey healthcare students were selected as recipients of the Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Scholarship Fund. This year’s fundraising efforts enabled the Foundation to distribute $85,000 to fund scholarships at seven New Jersey medical school, dental school and physician assistant programs.

“I am so grateful for the support we received this year,” said Patricia A. Costante, Chairman and CEO of MDAdvantage. “In particular, I would like to thank our Scholarship Honor Roll members, especially our Excellence in Medicine Society members, Kern Augustine Conroy & Schoppmann, P.C., and Murphy Healthcare Group (who donated in honor of Richard P. Mackessy, MD). Additionally, our Healthcare Champion Society members this year included Dr. and Mrs. George F. Heinrich (in honor of M. Maral Mouradian, MD, and Amy B. Mansue) and Robert Wood Johnson Health System and Children’s Specialized Hospital (both in honor of Amy Mansue). All of these generous donors came through to join MDAdvantage in investing in the future of New Jersey medicine.”

The 2015 Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Honorees

Outstanding Medical Educator Award: Richard P. Mackessy, MD, Orthopaedic surgeon, Union County Orthopedic Group and Chief of the Orthopedics Department at Trinitas Regional Medical Center

Outstanding Healthcare Executive Award: Amy B. Mansue, President and CEO, Children’s Specialized Hospital

Edward J. Ill Physician’s Award®: Margaret C. Fisher, MD, Medical Director of the Unterberg Children’s Hospital at Monmouth Medical Center and Professor of Pediatrics at Drexel University College of Medicine and St. George’s University School of Medicine, Grenada

Outstanding Medical Research Scientist Award for Basic Biomedical Research: Estela Jacinto, PhD, Associate Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Outstanding Medical Research Scientist Award for Clinical Research: M. Maral Mouradian, MD, William Dow Lovett Professor of Neurology and Director of the Center for Neurodegenerative and Neuroimmunologic Diseases in the Department of Neurology at Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences – Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Peter W. Rodino, Jr., Citizen’s Award®: Captain Joseph P. Costabile, MD, General and vascular surgeon, Virtua Surgical Group

The 2015 scholarship recipients are:

  • John Alexander (Rutgers University School of Health Related Professions – Class of 2016)
  • Steven Bialick (Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine – Class of 2016)
  • Erin Conway (Rutgers New Jersey Medical School – Class of 2015)
  • Kalvin Foo (Cooper Medical School of Rowan University – Class of 2017)
  • Ashley Silakoski (Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School – Class of 2015)
  • Blair Sittmann (Rutgers School of Dental Medicine – Class of 2015)
  • Emily Weinick (Seton Hall University School of Health and Medical Sciences – Class of 2016)

Paul J. Hirsch, MD, Chairman of the Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Foundation, stated, “We are grateful for the ongoing commitment of our contributors, advertisers and, especially, the scholarship honor roll members who support the awards program each year. This year we proudly invest in our latest class of scholarship recipients, bringing our total scholarship contributions to $405,000 over the last six years.”

The Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2016 awards program. The deadline for submissions is August 14, 2015. For more information on the awards program and the nomination process, visit

To learn more about this year’s honorees and their perspectives on healthcare, see the Spring 2015 issue of MDAdvisor. For more information on MDAdvisor, including subscription and advertisement opportunities, go to

About MDAdvantage: MDAdvantage Insurance Company is a leading provider of medical professional liability insurance and the publisher of MDAdvisor. For more information on MDAdvantage, call 888-355-5551 or visit

Janet Puro
MDAdvantage Insurance Company of New Jersey
VP, Business Development & Corporate Communications

The website below is fully functional for your convenience to provide additional information about us and/or our news.

Featured WebPage


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.