The press release service powered by the Press

New Jersey Hall of Fame Announces 50 Nominees for Class of 2014 Public Vote

Public Vote to run through June 20

NJ Hall of Fame LogoEast Rutherford, NJ May 21, 2014The New Jersey Hall of Fame has announced 50 nominees in five categories – Arts & Letters, Enterprise, Performing Arts, Public Service, and Sports. Public voting is now underway online at the newly upgraded

The 7th class of New Jersey Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in early-summer and formally inducted later this year.

New Jersey Hall of Fame Commission Chairman Bart Oates, captain of the 1986 Super Bowl champion Giants, described these nominees for 2014 induction as “a group of exemplary high-achievers reflecting everything that is best about New Jersey.”

The public is encouraged to cast a vote for one nominee in each of the five categories listed below.

Arts & Letters (e.g. writers, poets, scholars, artists, and journalists)

Alexander Calder, artist & sculptor; Junot Diaz, fiction-writer and professor; Thomas Fleming, novelist & historian; John McPhee, nonfiction writer; Dorothy Parker, author and screenwriter; George Price, cartoonist; Alfred Stieglitz, photographer and art promoter; Dr. George Theophilus Walker, musical composer; Brian Williams, TV news anchor; and Edmund Wilson, literary critic, writer and editor.

Enterprise (e.g. scientists, business leaders, inventors, entrepreneurs, and philanthropists)

Lewis Dubois Bassett, founder of Bassett’s Ice Cream Company; James E. Burke, former CEO of Johnson & Johnson; Carla Harris, motivational speaker, singer, author, and financial executive; Howard Katz, media executive; F.M. Kirby, Jr., entrepreneur and philanthropist; Dr. Victor Paronnet, cardiac surgeon, association founder, and arts supporter; Dr. John Rock, an early African-American civil rights leader among the first to earn a medical degree and the first black person admitted to the Supreme Court; Charles F. Seabrook, agricultural pioneer and founder of Seabrook Farms; Dr. James Still, for in the 19th century as the “black doctor of the Pinelands;” Alice Waters, influential chef and advocate for childhood nutrition and education.

Performing Arts (e.g., instrumental & vocal musicians, composers, actors & actresses, and dancers)

The Isley Brothers, vocal group; Dizzy Gillespie, jazz trumpeter, singer, composer, and teacher; Jerry Herman, award-winning Broadway composer and lyricist; Celeste Holm, film actress; Oscar Micheaux, author, film director and independent producer; Eddie Murphy, comedian and actor; Nelson Riddle, musical arranger and orchestra leader; The Shirelles, rock & roll’s first female super-group; Wayne Shorter, jazz musician; Paul Whiteman; jazz composer & bandleader.

Public Service (e.g. leaders and activists in such fields as medicine, education, military, and government)

Robert Lee Carter, civil rights activist, judge and co-founder of the National Conference of Black Lawyers; Peter J. McGuire; labor advocate and founder of the Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America; Marvin Creamer, geography professor who circumnavigated the world in 1982 without navigational instruments; John Cunningham, historian and author; Maude Dahme, holocaust survivor and educator serving on state boards and commissions; James Florio, NJ Governor and winner of John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award; William Livingston, New Jersey’s first governor and signer of the U.S. Constitution; Clara Maass, U.S. Army nurse whose death led to medical reforms; Mildred Norman Ryder, peace activist and the first woman to walk the length of the Appalachian Train in one season; Elizabeth Cady Stanton; 19th century activist, author, and abolitionist and women’s rights leader.

Sports (e.g. athletes, coaches, and others in the field):

Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner; Craig Biggio, major league baseball all-star; Don Bragg, NCAA pole vault champion, and Olympic gold medalist; Dick Button; men’s figure skater winning multiple Olympic gold medals, and U.S. and World titles; Frank Cumiskey, three-time Olympic Gymnastics winner; Patrick Ewing, collegiate and professional basketball superstar, and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist; Goose Goslin, major league baseball Hall of Fame outfielder; Pop Lloyd, Negro League superstar and Baseball Hall of Fame inductee; Sharon Goldbrenner-Pfluger, field hockey and lacrosse coach at The College of New Jersey leading her teams to numerous NCAA Div. III national championships; Amos Alonzo Stagg, renowned collegiate football coach who later coached the U.S. Olympic Track & Field team.

Although created through bipartisan unanimous legislation, the New Jersey Hall of Fame is supported exclusively through private donations.

Please visit to read and view more about this year’s nominees.

The New Jersey Hall of Fame was created to honor citizens who have made invaluable contributions to society and the world beyond. The Hall of Fame reinforces the message to children that they can and should strive for excellence in any endeavor of their choosing. By presenting significant and powerful role models and teaching young people about the voting process, the Hall of Fame is a source of learning, inspiration and hope for children. The New Jersey Hall of Fame is a designated 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization with two collaborating boards working jointly: the New Jersey Hall of Fame Board of Commissioners, administered the New Jersey Sports & Exposition Authority, and the New Jersey Hall of Fame Foundation Board of Trustees.


Bart Oates
Chairman, NJ Hall of Fame Board of Commissioners
New Jersey Hall of Fame
(201) 460-4021



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.